UPnP: Port Forwarding that’s Fool Proof

UPnP. You probably heard about it or seen it lurking in your router settings, or while you fiddle around Windows‘ built-in firewall. So what the hell is it?

I myself didn’t bother to look up on it as it didn’t sound appealing to me compared to lamb curry. Not until I read about Port Map. Port Map is basically a Mac app that allows easy port forwarding WITHOUT accessing your router. Now now before you stop reading on thinking this is some shitty Mac praising post, don’t regret if I tell you how this will actually let you play C&C3 online without opening 80% of all available ports from 1 to 65535.

portmap.png

So I was thinking, What the f**k? How is it possible to port forward without actually setting it up in the router? Wouldn’t it be a (local) security issue? After a little googling, turns out that UPnP has been around long before I even graduated from high school.

UPnP is basically a technology that allows devices (such as your computer) to tell the router it needs to allow connection thru a certain port number so that it can communicate properly with the other internet client. Some of the most popular software I could think of that could utilize UPnP is Skype and uTorrent. For the past few years, I have been wondering why in the f**k uTorrent has an option to RANDOMIZE your port number each time it starts? Wouldn’t that mean you have to port forward all over again? Now I know. It’s UPnP that’s allows such voodoo to exist.

So how can you get this voodoo to work? First of all, you need to access your router (just this once to set it up). Every router setup differs so you may have to read your manual to find out how to enable UPnP. Some routers that are too old might not even have UPnP. Also, I notice that some Belkin routers do not have UPnP as well.

upnp-router.png

For the purpose of introducing UPnP, I’ll use screenshots from popular BitTorrent programs for example.

upnp-ut.png

upnp-trans.png

Notice there are options to allow these programs to utilise UPnP. And that’s it, enjoy UPnP.

Few things to note: If you have multiple routers on the same internet connection, make sure the ‘parent router’ forwards ALL ports to the next router. UPnP doesn’t communicate router to router unfortunately (at least this is the case for home routers, correct me if I’m wrong).

Also, I have the feeling that enabling UPnP might cause potential security dangers especially to Windows machines. Make sure you have anti-virus/spyware installed before you utilize UPnP.

Hope you enjoy this tech tip, because I have. For the first time since C&C3 launch I could finally play it online, just to get owned by someone who claims to be a noob.

6 responses to “UPnP: Port Forwarding that’s Fool Proof

  1. ok i have a dell router 2300 and iim using norton 360 for my everything. when i try downloading from bitcomet it says my external ip is blocked. i tried portforward but it doesnt work for me after i click add nothing shows up. people say to disable upnp, but i seriously dont know what to do please help!!!!!!

  2. I think disabling UPnP will not help. Have you tried disabling 360’s firewall, I’m not familiar with norton 360 but from reading various sources it seems that they have a built-in firewall. That could be causing you the trouble.

    Also, try to disable Windows firewall and see if it helps. If you’re doing port forwarding the non-UPnP way make sure you’re forwarding it correctly – to the correct IP and port.

    If you’re unsure post your port forward values here and we’ll start from there.

  3. i tried disabling norton 360 and windows but it doesnt work. my port im trying to open is 52681,

  4. oh i have a dell truemobile 2300 as the router
    and a speedstream 5200 as the modem

  5. I can see the problem here. Your modem can also act as a router so the routing gets a bit more complicated. Try to find a way to set your modem to true modem mode or port forward all ports 1-65535 to your dell router. I’m sorry I can’t help much I’m stuck in Malaysia holiday trip with very slow Internet on my iPhone. Cheers.

  6. I for some reason I always used port 9090 for torrents. No real reason, but it was just weird to see 9090 used here. GET OUT OF MY HEAD

Leave a Reply

